Royal Leamington Spa

A brief town review and a pre-Paris note!

I visited Royal Leamington Spa yesterday and was pleasantly surprised. Though my mother and I had been looking for a fitting place for afternoon tea, we found that a more continental style of dining was the regional preference; there were countless delicatessens, French bistros and Italian restaurants. Having done the rounds, we chose to go back to Bar Angeli as we had seen a couple of mains being served outside and they looked very appealing. Bar Angeli has adopted an Italian menu and its interior really carries that theme, from the rustic lighting and tables to the wooden board our sharing platter was served on. We chose the ‘Antipasti Plank’ because it seemed the most authentic; we were more than happy with the spread of charcuterie, cheeses and breads. As we were finishing up there was a rather long queue forming – the café boasts the best coffee in town and seemed a popular joint with the locals.

Leamington Spa is a lovely town and as well as the aforementioned restaurants, cafés and delis, you can find most of the classic high street stores but also some more interesting individual boutiques – lots of pretty vintage and charity shops around.

Worth a visit if you’re in the area. Now then, I’m heading to Paris first thing in the morning so if you have any requests (or recommendations) please let me know and I’ll do my best to cover them, calling upon the aid of my trusty friend, Corina.

