Dark & Stormy Variation – Part II

Today’s take on the Dark & Stormy is to take the form of its distant Highland cousin.  It also earned itself ‘Experimental of the Month’ because I actually loved it.  And here’s how it came about…

As I walked back from Daylesford, dinner proudly in hand, I picked a couple of thistles without even really thinking about it.  I was feeling all nostalgic for Edinburgh.  When I got in the house I did a quick scout around the living room for Scottish-looking objects and raided my parent’s very random assortment of liqueurs, wines and spirits.  Excitedly I spread my findings on the table, along with a tasty dinner for one, and got to work.

Served in an Edinburgh Crystal tumbler, Crabbie’s Ginger Beer was the perfect complement to the spiced citrusy flavour of the Glayva.  As a citrus fanatic, I added a little lemon to bring out that tang just a little more.

I think I may even prefer this version to my previous concoction as it was a lot slicker, less dramatic but still rich in flavour and emulating the warm glow of a fire as one sits in front of it to escape the chill of the storm.  Of course the alcohol content also provided a rather cosy warmth in my belly…

I would definitely make this cocktail again and have christened this gem a ‘Loud, deep, and lang’ – loud for the fiery ginger, deep for the whiskey and rum, and lang for the style of cocktail.  More importantly though, it comes from a poem of which I was reminded, one amongst those that we used to recite every year for Burns Night…

The wind blew as ‘twad blawn its last;
The rattling showers rose on the blast;
The speedy gleams the darkness swallow’d;
Loud, deep, and lang, the thunder bellow’d

(‘Rabbie’ Burns’ Tam O’ Shanter)

Recipe:

1oz Glayva (“the best liqueur in the world” – how it was crowned with that title is unbeknown to me, though it is rather smooth)

2oz Lamb’s rum

Top up with ginger beer (I used Crabbie’s alcoholic version because it’s just so tasty)

Generous squeeze of a fresh lemon

Method:

Pour the Glayva and the rum consecutively over a few ice cubes and top up with ginger beer.  For a bit of a zing, add a generous squeeze of lemon.

